40 going on 20

What’s a 40-year-old doing in a company whose average age is 28?  How did I spend 20 years in the working world to only end up along side of coworkers who could be my children.  The strange thing is that I don’t feel much different then they do, or at least I think I do — although their tolerance for drinking, partying and working long hours on a hangover is considerably higher than mine.  Don’t get me wrong, I can meet them drink for drink if I wanted too, but it’s all about the recovery time.  I just can’t snap back as quickly as I used to and the notion of vomitiss-nausea plus a full workday doesn’t sound like fun to me.  I’d rather not.  One thing my 40-year-old wisdom has taught me.

And there’s the fact that they’re dialed into the latest pop culture.  I hear words being tossed around like: lady gaga or retard or taylor swift… whatever.  So what if I don’t have a full service television and only watch Hulu and Netflix.  At least I’m creating my reality, even if I’m a lone wolf out there somewhere in midlife crisis land.  At this point, the best I can hope for are secretive late night pop culture pursuits.  Which are sadly resulting in me going home and watching as many movie trailers on Hulu in order to start closing the gap between Generation X and Generation I-don’t-know-what!  I’m frightened of what I might do next just to fit-in.

Is that a wise thing to do at my age?  Didn’t I learn that lesson long ago?  Guess not. Well, to hell with it.  Yes, I’m 40 going on 20.  I think Oprah said that, right?  Or was it 30.  Hell, I just can’t remember anymore.  But really, I don’t feel much different than them… or do I…

ELO – the office old lady (sorta)

EC

One Comment

  1. Lindsay H.
    Posted May 5, 2010 at 8:40 am | Permalink | Reply

    At least you still get carded you old lady you! And the “drink for drink” thing? That sounds like a challenge. You were talking Metamucil right?

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

